NY Pushcart Onion Sauce – Photos and Recipe

This onion sauce is wonderful on hot dogs and burgers and all kinds of sandwiches.   I’ve had the recipe and made it for years.  It is a variation of the onion sauce you can get on a dog in NYC.   Last time I was there the guy only put a minute amount on my dog and I couldn’t get him to give me more.  I couldn’t wait to get back to Virginia and make up a batch so I could smother a dog with it.  Image and recipe below.

New York Pushcart Onion Sauce

2 Tbsp olive oil

2 Medium onions, cut into ¼ inch slices

¼ cup of ketchup

1/8 tsp of chili powder (I add more)

Pinch of ground cinnamon

Dash of hot pepper sauce (I add more)

½ cup water

Dash of salt

(I add crushed red pepper flakes and fresh ground black pepper and garlic powder)(sometimes I add some curry powder)

In a medium-sized skillet, heat the olive oil on medium heat; add onion slices and sautee for about 7 minutes until golden and limp. Mix together rest of ingredients and add to onions. Stir and bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer uncovered for about 10 minutes. Serve over hot dogs.

(I double or triple the recipe – it is good on burgers, bratwurst, sausages and on a roast beef sandwich). (great in eggs for an omelet too).

Leave a Reply

