Fog and Fall in Chesapeake

I got out of work at the beach at 5 AM and it was trying to get foggy there.  As I proceeded west to my neighborhood (Western Branch of Chesapeake – near the Suffolk line) it grew increasingly foggy.  I had to stop at the store to get some grub for grilling later – I was hoping the fog wouldn’t leave before I could get out to get a few images.  It did not dissapoint me.  I took a walk in my neighborhood and got these images.   The one above is on Emerald Woods Drive where I walk the dog nearly every day.

This image (above) is on Emerald Woods Dr.  looking east.  I love fog.

This image (above) is on Dock Landing Road – it was less foggy – but the colors caught my eye.

 

The image above was on Bailey’s Creek taken from Dock LandingRoad Chesapeake VA.  It moved me.

I have worked a few 12 hr watches and will catch up on visits to blogs as soon as I can.  I hope you have a fantastic day.

Best Regards

Jim Brickett

6 comments on “Fog and Fall in Chesapeake

  1. Love these foggy images, Jim. I love the dark and dream like quality of the second and last images. Really nice. And thanks for sharing. Now, rest up from those long days. 🙂

  2. Beautiful pictures, Jim! I hope to one day get some nice foggy images 🙂

    • Jim Brickett says:

      Katie – it is funny – the dark ones – devoid of color but with cool lighting are my favorites also. Thanks for your input and I hope you have a great evening/day.
      Best Regards
      Jim

    • Jim Brickett says:

      Nicole: Thanks for the cool comment. I tried yesterday to get fog photos when the fog was thicker and not one image worked out the way I wanted. It is hard to focus in fog and hard to get lighting adjusted right. I love taking photos in the fog. It causes great problems at work – with the ships – but brings me great joy when I can capture an image with fog. A trick for spotting when fog will apear = when the air temp and the dew point are the same – good chance for fog in the AM. Have a great night.
      Best Regards
      Jim

  3. ehpem says:

    Hi JIm – I like those dark foggy ones as well, especially the Emerald Woods Dr one (should that be monochrome woods drive?).

  4. I love it! The contrast between the dark silhouettes in the foreground and the gray mist in the background in the last photo is so dramatic.

Leave a Reply

